Posted by: emilychef | September 18, 2009

Stuffed Acorn Squash


IMG_0454

Comment – My Mom would make this recipe for us when we were kids and we loved it. It is a quick easy recipe that always turns out delicious.

Ingredients

3 Acorn Squash

Butter, Salt & Pepper (I use Olive oil instead of butter)

3/4 lb ground beef (I use turkey burger)

1/4 lb Jimmy dean sausage (I use turkey sausage)

1/2 cup chopped celery

1/3 cup onion

1 can cream of mushroom soup

Directions

Cut squash in half. Remove seeds. Brush inside with butter. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake squash cut side down in shallow pan at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile cook beef, sausage, celery, and onion in skillet until done. Stir in soup and stuff squash. Top with dry breadcrumbs, for garnish. Bake 15-20 minutes longer at 350 degrees.


Responses

  1. Sounds delicious! I made this great Moroccan-style stuffed acorn squash over the weekend.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/moroccan-style-stuffed-acorn-squashes/

    • Thanks Michael. Your Moroccan Style stuffed squash sounds really good. Have you tried Bastilla before? It’s a really popular Moroccan dish with filo dough.

  2. I haven’t but if you have a recipe send it my way!

    • I posted a picture and link to the recipe on my blog today.


Leave a comment

Categories